What is your life’s purpose?

The title of this blog entry is not simply a question. For me, its more of a challenge. Can you answer this question with conviction? A professor in one of my class once asked, “What is your purpose in life?” Indirectly, she asked it to the whole class but it hit me like an an arrow hitting it’s target. Yes, I suddenly realized, am I serving my purpose? Am I doing something that will achieve my purpose or perhaps at least my goal?

During college, my sister lend me one of her books titled, “A Purpose Driven Life” by Og Mandino. He’s always been my sister’s favorite inspirational author. The book guides the reader to a journey of self reflection. It seems to be boring but for me, it does brings me to a calm and relax state. Best feeling ever!

“I am here for a purpose and that purpose is to grow into a mountain, not to shrink to a grain of sand. Henceforth will I apply ALL my efforts to become the highest mountain of all and I will strain my potential until it cries for mercy.”- Og Mandino

There’s a lot of noise and voices in my world and yes, I am trying to listen to each and every voice but self reflection is my personal time. Listening is not a bad idea but listening to your own soul is always a person’s need.  It’s my opportunity to spend time to talk to myself and listen to what I’d like to say and how I feel. In this “real” world of business, people tend to be too focused to the point that they forget about their self. Sometimes a person needs to be put into something that will require them to realize and ponder on the question of his purpose of existence. I’d like to say everyone is aiming to know the answer, some are just unconscious of this question but it’s running somewhere inside them. But sooner or later, they’ll find the answer, because everyone has their own way of unveiling the answer.

Finding the purpose in life is a difficult task. So, let me ask you this, do you know your purpose? Are you even doing things that will help you accomplish your purpose?

Leave a Reply

